Mountains Dachstein

The Dachstein Mountains are located in three federal states - Styria, Upper Austria and Salzburg. The highest point, Hoher Dachstein at 2,995 metres above sea level, is the second highest mountain in the entire Northern Limestone Alps. The area around the highest peak is rich in glaciers. The Dachstein mountain range is divided into four separate groups (Hoher Sarstein, Gosaukamm, Am Stein, Grimming).

The Hallstatt Lake area is also interesting, where one of the oldest human settlements has been found. The whole area of the Dachstein massif is very popular with tourists thanks to the glaciers in winter and thanks to the two cable cars, ferrata and many hiking trails in summer.

The highest mountain

Dachstein 2 995 m above see level

List of major mountain peaks

Hohes Kreuz 2 837 m, Schreiberwand 2 637 m, Grosser Bischofsmütze 2 459 m, Grimming 2 351 m, Hochecken 2 107 m

Dachstein is divided

Dachstein; Gosaukamm; Grimming; Am dem Stein

Protected areas
More information

Belongs to the system: the Northern Limestone Alps
It is in the countries: Austria.
Predominant rocks: limestone

Interesting links