Mountains Berchstesgaden Alps

The Berchtesgaden Alps (German: Berchtesgadener Alpen) lie on the border of Germany and Austria, with Germany owning the greater part. The highest mountain Hochkönig 2 941 m above sea level is located in the Austrian part. The mountain range is divided into several groups. In the northeast we find the Untersberg group with the peak Hochthorn 1972. The border ridge is called the Göllergruppe with the Horner Göll 2 522 m above sea level, which is connected to the Hagen Gebirge limestone labyrinth.

The southern part of the mountain range consists of the Steineres Meer limestone plateau. Another mountain range in the Austrian part of the Berchtesgaden Alps is the Reiter Alpe group. The most visited mountain in the whole range is the beautiful Watzmann with its 1,800-metre-high wall. This mountain is already in Germany.

The highest mountain

Hochkönig 2 941 m above see level

List of major mountain peaks

Hoher Göll 2 522 m, Teufelshörener 2 36 m, Selbhorn 2 655 m, Stadlhorn 2 287 m, Watzmann-Mittlespitze 2 713 m

Berchstesgaden Alps is divided

Hochkönig; Untersberg; Göller Gruppe; Hagen Gebirge; Steineres Meer; Reiter Alpe; Lattengebirge

Protected areas

Berchtesgaden National Park

More information

Belongs to the system: the Northern Limestone Alps
It is in the countries of Austria, Germany
Predominant rocks: limestone; dolomite

Interesting links